My Story

My name is David Wimblett and I live in Chilworth, Surrey with my wife and we have four grown-up sons.

My background

I started my first business as a 21 year old in printing and have always run my own businesses since. Although, at times, it has been very hard work and even challenging, I love the freedom and variety it has given me, as well as the rewards.

In 2006 I became a Director Consultant for BNI. Since then I have helped 100s of business owners to grow their businesses by giving them support, training and mentoring. I have run workshops on networking skills, presentation skills, marketing, goal setting, leadership skills and team building. I look after the Surbiton chapter of BNI and am currently building a new chapter in Guildford (Kingfisher BNI), Surrey.

As a business mentor I firmly believe that everybody in business should have a business mentor, certainly at some point, someone who has done what they are doing already; someone that has learnt from being in business themselves. I help my clients with real practical knowledge that works, gained from over 30 years of working for myself.

Hobbies and interests

I have so many! Skiing and sailing I love. But I also enjoy karting, football, basketball, tennis, photography, cooking, walking, riding my bikes and writing. I have written two business books and one children’s book. Currently I am trying to learn to play the drums.

My goals

One of my biggest goals was to own a classic car. I recently achieved this and now have a beautiful 1965 Ford Mustang Fastback.

Two current goals are to learn how to fly a glider, (I had my first lesson late last year), and to ride on the Darjeeling Railway.

Long term my goal is easy, as it’s to enjoy life as I have always done, which I hope will include a week skiing, at my favourite resort Les Deux Alpes, in March, and then in September a couple of weeks sailing off Corfu, every year.

Author: David Wimblett

Business Mentor helping SMEs build their businesses by finding the right customers and having belief in their vision. Have run my own businesses from 21 and live in Chilworth, Guildford, Surrey with my wife. We have four grown-up sons. Author of 'The 10 Year Breakfast' and 'BNI: One Bite at a Time'.

Leave a Reply

